Diane Rosenfeld. Photo by John R. Boehm

Diane L. Rosenfeld is a lecturer on Law and Director of the Gender Violence Program at Harvard Law School.

Diane L. Rosenfeld, J.D., LL.M., is Founding Director of the Gender Violence Program and Lecturer on Law at Harvard Law School.

Her breakthrough legal work, research, and arguments have appeared in the New York TimesWashington PostGlamour, and more. Her op-eds have been featured in the Washington PostBoston GlobeChicago Tribune, cnn.com, and the Harvard Crimson.

She served as the first Senior Counsel to the Office on Violence Against Women at the U.S. Department of Justice and as an Executive Assistant Attorney General in Illinois. In 2007, she created and taught the first legal seminar on Title IX in the country, which continues to this day at Harvard Law School. She also advised the Obama Administration on the prevention of campus sexual assault and contributed to the Presidential Task Force on Protecting Students from Sexual Assault.

She is the recipient of multiple awards including the Shatter the Ceiling Award from Harvard Law School and the Ms. JD “Woman of Inspiration” Award. She is a keynote speaker and lecturer at conferences, organizations, and universities throughout the world.

Prior to teaching at Harvard Law School, Ms. Rosenfeld served as:

  • Commissioner of the Massachusetts Governor’s Commission on Sexual and Domestic Violence (2003-2006)
  • Co-Producer of “Rape Is…” (2002)
  • Senior Counsel of the Violence Against Women Office in the U.S. Department of Justice
  • Executive Assistant Attorney General of the State of Illinois


Ms. Rosenfeld holds her LL.M. from Harvard Law School, her J.D. from the University of Wisconsin School of Law and her B.A. with Distinction in Political Science from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.

Ms. Rosenfeld’s awards include: Ms. JD’s “Woman of Inspiration” Award (2016); “Shatter the Ceiling” and Students for Inclusion Teaching Award, Harvard Law School (2016); finalist for the Sachs-Freund Teaching Awards, Harvard Law School (2008, 2012); the Jeanne Geiger Crisis Center’s “Changemaker Award” (2007); and the Boston Area Rape Crisis Center’s “Champion for Change” (2005).